Apparel & AccessoriesBooksClassical MusicDVDElectronics & PhotoGourmet Food and GroceriesHealth & Personal CareHome & GardenIndustrial & ScientificKitchen
Popular MusicMusical InstrumentsOutdoor LivingComputer HardwareComputer SoftwareSporting GoodsToolsToys and GamesVHS VideoVideo Games

Search:

Browse by Catagory:

Books

Surface Chemistry


Analysis of Surfactants, Second Edition (Surfactant Science)

Analysis of Surfactants, Second Edition (Surfactant Science) Lowest new price: $329.02
Lowest used price: $175.00
List price: $370.00
Author: Thomas M. Schmitt
Brand: Brand: CRC Press

In the tradition of the popular first edition, Analysis of Surfactants, Second Edition offers a comprehensive and practical account of analysis methods for determining and understanding commercially important surfactants-individually and in compounds. Combining a complete review of the literature with a variety of evaluation procedures and the specifications for commercial products, this useful reference explores the key stages and latest developments for surfactant applications. This edition has been thoroughly expanded and features new sections on capillary electrophoresis, ether carboxylates, and ester quats. It is also more globally accessible with foreign language citations and SI units.

Containing over 2400 references, drawings, tables, and equations, Analysis of Surfactants, Second Edition is an recommended reference for physical, surface, colloid, and oil chemists; analytical, research, and quality assurance chemists working in the soap and detergent, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetic industries; regulatory and food scientists; and upper-level undergraduate and graduate students in these disciplines.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition


Semiconductor Surfaces and Interfaces (Springer Series in Surface Sciences)

Semiconductor Surfaces and Interfaces (Springer Series in Surface Sciences) Lowest new price: $115.79
Lowest used price: $1.60
List price: $59.95
Author: Winfried Mönch

Semiconductor Surfaces and Interfaces deals with structural and electronic properties of semiconductor surfaces and interfaces.
The first part introduces the general aspects of space-charge layers, of clean-surface and adatom-included surfaces states, and of interface states. It is followed by a presentation of experimental results on clean and adatom-covered surfaces which are explained in terms of simple physical and chemical concepts and models. Where available, results of more refined calculations are considered. A final chapter is devoted to the band lineup at semiconductor interfaces.


Microemulsion Systems (Surfactant Science)

Microemulsion Systems (Surfactant Science) Lowest new price: $202.98
Lowest used price: $19.80
List price: $269.95
Author: Henri L. Rosano


On the Surface of Things: Images of the Extraordinary in Science

On the Surface of Things: Images of the Extraordinary in Science Lowest new price: $69.14
Lowest used price: $8.58
List price: $35.00
Author: Felice Frankel
Brand: Chronicle Books

A rare collaboration between artist and scientist, On the Surface of Things explores the hidden visual splendor of scientific phenomena, from cutting-edge nanotechnology to DNA sequencing. Photographer Felice Frankel, artist-in-residence at MIT, teamed up with George M. Whitesides, world-renowned Harvard University chemistry professor, to capture on film the chance explosions of beauty and color that occur when one surface meets another -- on both the micro- and macroscopic levels. How many electrons can dance on the head of a pin? What do DNA strands look like when chased by an electrical charge??

?Using innovative photographic technology, Frankel finds startling abstract beauty in the undulations of liquid crystal film, the gymnastics of plastic microstructures, the migratory trudge of bacteria, and other scientific wonders. Whitesides's accompanying text is lucid, engaging, and even poetic as he explains each photograph, describing why and how these phenomena occur. In the tradition of The Powers of Ten, On the Surface of Things will excite curious minds and intrigue anyone with an appreciation for photography or unique forms of natural beauty.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Fractography: Observing, Measuring and Interpreting Fracture Surface Topography

Fractography: Observing, Measuring and Interpreting Fracture Surface Topography Lowest new price: $92.09
Lowest used price: $74.99
List price: $113.00
Author: Derek Hull
Brand: Brand: Cambridge University Press

Fracture surfaces are produced when a solid breaks. The appearance of the surface, particularly the topography, depends on both the type of material broken and the conditions under which it was broken, such as stress, temperature, or environment. Fractography describes the ways of studying these surfaces. Coverage includes all the information needed to understand the deformation and fracture in all types of solids and to interpret the topographical features in terms of the microstructure and the way it was tested. It also provides details on how to design clear and unambiguous experiments that involve many aspects of fracture in a wide range of solids. This book is an invaluable resource for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as researchers, industrial scientists, engineers, and anyone with an interest in materials science.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Tribophysics

Tribophysics Lowest new price: $3,943.01
Lowest used price: $279.25
List price: $105.00
Author: Nam P. Suh


Vibrational Spectroscopy of Molecules and Macromolecules on Surfaces

Vibrational Spectroscopy of Molecules and Macromolecules on Surfaces Lowest new price: $39.85
Lowest used price: $6.64
List price: $115.95
Author: Marek W. Urban

Bridges the gap between basic principles of vibrational spectroscopy covering its practical aspects. Emphasizes structure-property relations on surfaces and interfaces. Normal vibrations, adsorption of hydrocarbons or metals and metal oxides, polymers on surfaces, techniques, banding, new materials, adhesion and surfaces of catalysts are among the subjects discussed.


Metal Oxide Chemistry and Synthesis: From Solution to Solid State

Metal Oxide Chemistry and Synthesis: From Solution to Solid State Lowest new price: $334.08
Lowest used price: $271.00
List price: $478.00
Author: Jean-Pierre Jolivet

The precipitation of metal oxides from aqueous solutions creates nanoparticles with interesting solid state properties, thus building a bridge between solution chemistry and solid state chemistry. This book is the first monograph to deal with the formation of metal oxides from aqueous solutions with emphasis on the formation and physical chemistry of nanoparticles.

Metal Oxide Chemistry and Synthesis: From Solution to Solid State
* Provides a comprehensive introduction to the synthesis of finely divided materials
* Presents the chemistry, physics and applications of these materials
* Builds a bridge between classical solution chemistry and new developments in solid state chemistry
* Introduces an important new area in inorganic chemistry
Part I examines the mechanism of condensation of aqueous cations leading to polynuclear species or lattices, and rationalizes the behaviour of cations in precipitation phenomena by identifying pathways from soluble species to solids. The cation complex is also analysed in relation to the synthesis of some technologically interesting polymetallic oxides, e.g. ferroelectric, ferrimagnetic and supraconductor materials.

Part II is devoted to the surface chemistry of oxide particles. The basic concepts relating to the reactivity of the oxide-solution interface are introduced and applied to various adsorption phenomena, such as aggregation, stability of particle size against ripening, etc. These properties are exploited for the synthesis of nanomaterials for a broad range of applictions such as ceramic powders, catalysts and nanocomposites. This will also be of interest to those wishing to understand geochemical and some biological processes.

As well as being invaluable to researchers and postgraduate students of inorganic chemistry, this book will also be appreciated by solid-state chemists, materials scientists and colloid chemists with an interest in metal oxides.


Interactions of Surfactants with Polymers and Proteins

Interactions of Surfactants with Polymers and Proteins Lowest used price: $495.00
List price: $229.00
Author: E. D. Goddard

Interactions of Surfactants with Polymers and Proteins covers work done in this area over the last 30 years and examines in detail the physico-chemical, microstructural, and applications aspects of interactions of surfactants with polymers and proteins in bulk surfaces and at interfaces. The physical chemistry of individual components (surfactants, polymers, and proteins) is discussed, and extensive coverage of interactions of surfactants with uncharged, oppositely charged, and hydrophobe modified polymers is provided. Other topics addressed include water soluble and insoluble keratinous proteins, the principles and applications of fluorescence spectroscopy, the physical properties and microstructural aspects of polymer/protein-surfactant complexes, and implications of surfactant interactions with polymers and proteins in practical systems.

Interactions of Surfactants with Polymers and Proteins provides a wealth of information for chemists involved in a number of different research areas, including cosmetics, pharmaceutics, foods, paints, pigments, lubrication, ceramics, minerals/materials processing, and biological systems.


Characterization and Chemical Modification of the Silica Surface (Studies in Surface Science and Catalysis)

Characterization and Chemical Modification of the Silica Surface (Studies in Surface Science and Catalysis) Lowest new price: $985.85
Lowest used price: $330.00
List price: $264.00
Author: E.F. Vansant
Brand: Brand: Elsevier Science

Oxide surface materials are widely used in many applications, in particular where chemically modified oxide surfaces are involved. Indeed, in disciplines such as separation, catalysis, bioengineering, electronics, ceramics, etc., modified oxide surfaces are very important. In all cases, the knowledge of their chemical and surface characteristics is of great importance for the understanding and eventual improvement of their performances. This book reviews the latest techniques and procedures in the characterization and chemical modification of the silica surface, presenting a unified and state-of-the-art approach to the relevant analysis techniques and modification procedures, covering 1000 references integrated into one clear concept.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition


<< Prev   Next >>
Page 5 of 55

[Kindle]    [Kindle DX]
  Privacy Policy

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED AS IS AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.