Apparel & AccessoriesBooksClassical MusicDVDElectronics & PhotoGourmet Food and GroceriesHealth & Personal CareHome & GardenIndustrial & ScientificKitchen
Popular MusicMusical InstrumentsOutdoor LivingComputer HardwareComputer SoftwareSporting GoodsToolsToys and GamesVHS VideoVideo Games

Search:

Browse by Catagory:

Books

Mathematical Physics


Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order Lowest new price: $16.92
Lowest used price: $2.85
List price: $30.99
Author: Steven Strogatz
Brand: Brand: Hyperion

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Generalized Coherent States and Their Applications (Texts & Monographs in Physics)

Generalized Coherent States and Their Applications (Texts & Monographs in Physics) Lowest new price: $181.99
Lowest used price: $85.25
List price: $104.00
Author: A. Perelomov
Brand: Brand: Springer-Verlag

Book by Perelomov, A.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition


Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics)

Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) Lowest new price: $71.79
Lowest used price: $80.99
List price: $93.00
Author: Carlo Rovelli
Brand: Brand: Cambridge University Press

Quantum gravity poses the problem of merging quantum mechanics and general relativity, the two great conceptual revolutions in the physics of the twentieth century. The loop and spinfoam approach, presented in this book, is one of the leading research programs in the field. The first part of the book discusses the reformulation of the basis of classical and quantum Hamiltonian physics required by general relativity. The second part covers the basic technical research directions. Appendices include a detailed history of the subject of quantum gravity, hard-to-find mathematical material, and a discussion of some philosophical issues raised by the subject. This fascinating text is ideal for graduate students entering the field, as well as researchers already working in quantum gravity. It will also appeal to philosophers and other scholars interested in the nature of space and time.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library)

Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library) Lowest new price: $12.36
Lowest used price: $3.00
List price: $18.99
Author: Martin Gardner

Packing spheres, Reversi, braids, polyominoes, board games, and the puzzles of Lewis Carroll. These and other mathematical diversions return to readers with updates to all the chapters, including new game variations, proofs, and other developments and discoveries. Read about Knuth's Word Ladders program and the latest developments in the digits of pi. Once again these timeless puzzles will charm readers while demonstrating principles of logic, probability, geometry, and other fields of mathematics. It's the perfect stocking stuffer for the puzzle wizard on your list.

Similar Products:


Mathematics for Physics with Calculus

Mathematics for Physics with Calculus Lowest new price: $19.95
Lowest used price: $1.13
List price: $55.60
Author: Biman Das

A supplementary text for introductory courses in Calculus-Based Physics.

 

Designed for students who plan to take or who are presently taking calculus-based physics courses. This book will develop necessary mathematical skills and help students gain the competence to use precalculus, calculus, vector algebra, vector calculus, and the statistical analysis of experimental data. Students taking intermediate physics, engineering, and other science courses will also find the book useful–and will be able to use the book as a mathematical resource for these intermediate level courses. The book emphasizes primarily the use of mathematical techniques and mathematical concepts in Physics and does not go into their rigorous developments.

Similar Products:


Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences

Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences Lowest new price: $60.25
Lowest used price: $48.74
List price: $74.75
Author: Philip R. Bevington
Brand: McGraw Hill

The purpose of this book is to provide an introduction to the concepts of statistical analysis of data for students at the undergraduate and graduate level, and to provide tools for data reduction and error analysis commonly required in the physical sciences. The presentation is developed from a practical point of view, including enough derivation to justify the results, but emphasizing methods of handling data more than theory. The text provides a variety of numerical and graphical techniques. Computer programs that support these techniques will be available on an accompanying website in both Fortran and C++.

Similar Products:


Mathematical Methods For Physics

Mathematical Methods For Physics Lowest new price: $73.17
Lowest used price: $11.42
List price: $50.00
Author: H. W. Wyld

This classic book helps students learn the basics in physics by bridging the gap between mathematics and the basic fundamental laws of physics. With supplemental material such as graphs and equations, Mathematical Methods for Physics creates a strong, solid anchor of learning. The text has three parts: Part I focuses on the use of special functions in solving the homogeneous partial differential equations of physics, and emphasizes applications to topics such as electrostatics, wave guides, and resonant cavities, vibrations of membranes, heat flow, potential flow in fluids, plane and spherical waves. Part II deals with the solution of inhomogeneous differential equations with particular emphasis on problems in electromagnetism, Green’s functions for Poisson’s equation, the wave equation and the diffusion equation, and the solution of integral equations by iteration, eigenfunction expansion and the Fredholm series. Finally, Part II explores complex variable techniques, including evalution of itegrals, dispersion relations, special functions in the complex plane, one-sided Fourier transforms, and Laplace transforms.

Similar Products:


Classical Orthogonal Polynomials of a Discrete Variable (SPRINGER SERIES IN COMPUTATIONAL PHYSICS)

Classical Orthogonal Polynomials of a Discrete Variable (SPRINGER SERIES IN COMPUTATIONAL PHYSICS) Lowest new price: $189.53
Lowest used price: $29.99
List price: $99.00
Author: A. F. Nikiforov

While classical orthogonal polynomials appear as solutions to hypergeometric differential equations, those of a discrete variable emerge as solutions of difference equations of hypergeometric type on lattices. The authors present a concise introduction to this theory, presenting at the same time methods of solving a large class of difference equations. They apply the theory to various problems in scientific computing, probability, queuing theory, coding and information compression. The book is an expanded and revised version of the first edition, published in Russian (Nauka 1985). Students and scientists will find a useful textbook in numerical analysis.


Geocubic Cosmology

Geocubic Cosmology Lowest new price: $175.51
Lowest used price: $17.95
List price: $12.95
Author: Tom Gilmore
Brand: Brand: Mini Novel Pub

A fully developed geometric model is presented with 3-dimensional illustrations of all the atomic elements, accounting for the chemical properties of valence, isotope, and crystal lattice structure. The 4 basic forces (strong atomic force, weak atomic force, electromagnetism and gravity) are unified for the first time, and the paradox of time's arrow is resolved, in this long-awaited "theory of everything".

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition


Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics

Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics Lowest new price: $67.14
Lowest used price: $23.05
List price: $79.95
Author: George Turrell

Chemistry and physics share a common mathematical foundation. From elementary calculus to vector analysis and group theory, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics aims to provide a comprehensive reference for students and researchers pursuing these scientific fields. The book is based on the authors many classroom experience.

Designed as a reference text, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics will prove beneficial for students at all university levels in chemistry, physics, applied mathematics, and theoretical biology. Although this book is not computer-based, many references to current applications are included, providing the background to what goes on "behind the screen" in computer experiments.

Similar Products:


Next >>
Page 1 of 8

[Kindle]    [Kindle DX]
  Privacy Policy

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED AS IS AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.