Apparel & AccessoriesBooksClassical MusicDVDElectronics & PhotoGourmet Food and GroceriesHealth & Personal CareHome & GardenIndustrial & ScientificKitchen
Popular MusicMusical InstrumentsOutdoor LivingComputer HardwareComputer SoftwareSporting GoodsToolsToys and GamesVHS VideoVideo Games

Search:

Browse by Catagory:

Books

Mathematical Physics


Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics)

Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) Lowest new price: $75.96
Lowest used price: $70.00
List price: $93.00
Author: Carlo Rovelli
Brand: Brand: Cambridge University Press

Quantum gravity poses the problem of merging quantum mechanics and general relativity, the two great conceptual revolutions in the physics of the twentieth century. The loop and spinfoam approach, presented in this book, is one of the leading research programs in the field. The first part of the book discusses the reformulation of the basis of classical and quantum Hamiltonian physics required by general relativity. The second part covers the basic technical research directions. Appendices include a detailed history of the subject of quantum gravity, hard-to-find mathematical material, and a discussion of some philosophical issues raised by the subject. This fascinating text is ideal for graduate students entering the field, as well as researchers already working in quantum gravity. It will also appeal to philosophers and other scholars interested in the nature of space and time.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order Lowest new price: $16.93
Lowest used price: $1.99
List price: $30.99
Author: Steven H. Strogatz
Brand: Brand: Hyperion

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library)

Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library) Lowest new price: $12.00
Lowest used price: $2.00
List price: $18.99
Author: Martin Gardner

Packing spheres, Reversi, braids, polyominoes, board games, and the puzzles of Lewis Carroll. These and other mathematical diversions return to readers with updates to all the chapters, including new game variations, proofs, and other developments and discoveries. Read about Knuth's Word Ladders program and the latest developments in the digits of pi. Once again these timeless puzzles will charm readers while demonstrating principles of logic, probability, geometry, and other fields of mathematics. It's the perfect stocking stuffer for the puzzle wizard on your list.

Similar Products:


Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics

Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics Lowest new price: $67.20
Lowest used price: $11.51
List price: $79.95
Author: George Turrell
Brand: George Turrell

Chemistry and physics share a common mathematical foundation. From elementary calculus to vector analysis and group theory, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics aims to provide a comprehensive reference for students and researchers pursuing these scientific fields. The book is based on the authors many classroom experience.

Designed as a reference text, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics will prove beneficial for students at all university levels in chemistry, physics, applied mathematics, and theoretical biology. Although this book is not computer-based, many references to current applications are included, providing the background to what goes on "behind the screen" in computer experiments.

Features:

  • Mathematics For Chemistry Physics


Time Traveler: A Scientist's Personal Mission to Make Time Travel a Reality

Time Traveler: A Scientist's Personal Mission to Make Time Travel a Reality Lowest new price: $29.50
Lowest used price: $2.49
List price: $24.95
Author: Dr. Ronald L. Mallett
Brand: Brand: Thunder's Mouth Press

This is the dramatic and inspirational first-person story of theoretical physicist, Dr. Ronald Mallett, who recently discovered the basic equations for a working time machine that he believes can be used as a transport vehicle to the past.

Combining elements of Rocket Boys and Elegant Universe, Time Traveler follows Mallett's discovery of Einstein's work on space-time, his study of Godel's work on a solution of Einstein's equation that might allow for time travel, and his own research in theoretical physics spanning thirty years that culminated in his recent discovery of the effects of circulating laser light and its application to time travel.

The foundation for Mallett's historic time-travel work is Einstein's theory of general relativity, a sound platform for any physicist. Through his years of reading and studying Einstein, Mallett became a buff well before he had any notion of the importance of the grand old relativist's theories to his own career. One interesting subtext to the story is Mallett's identification with, and keen interest in, Einstein. Mallett provides easy-to-understand explanations of the famous physicist's seminal work.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


From Pythagoras to Einstein

From Pythagoras to Einstein Lowest new price: $140.35
Lowest used price: $4.68
List price: $10.00
Author: K. O. Friedrichs
Brand: Brand: Mathematical Assn of Amer

Discusses the Pythagorean theorem and the fundamentals of vector geometry in a variety of mathematical and physical contexts

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Inverse Schrodinger Scattering in Three Dimensions (Texts & Monographs in Physics)

Inverse Schrodinger Scattering in Three Dimensions (Texts & Monographs in Physics) Lowest new price: $50.01
Lowest used price: $43.16
List price: $54.95
Author: Roger G. Newton

Most of the laws of physics are expressed in the form of differential equations; that is our legacy from Isaac Newton. The customary separation of the laws of nature from contingent boundary or initial conditions, which has become part of our physical intuition, is both based on and expressed in the properties of solutions of differential equations. Within these equations we make a further distinction: that between what in mechanics are called the equations of motion on the one hand and the specific forces and shapes on the other. The latter enter as given functions into the former. In most observations and experiments the "equations of motion," i. e. , the structure of the differential equations, are taken for granted and it is the form and the details of the forces that are under investigation. The method by which we learn what the shapes of objects and the forces between them are when they are too small, too large, too remote, or too inaccessi­ ble for direct experimentation, is to observe their detectable effects. The question then is how to infer these properties from observational data. For the theoreti­ cal physicist, the calculation of observable consequences from given differential equations with known or assumed forces and shapes or boundary conditions is the standard task of solving a "direct problem. " Comparison of the results with experiments confronts the theoretical predictions with nature.


Physics: Algebra/Trig

Physics: Algebra/Trig Lowest new price: $11.55
Lowest used price: $2.42
List price: $246.95
Author: Eugene Hecht
Brand: Brand: Brooks/Cole Pub Co

In Hecht's groundbreaking book, you'll find real-life applications, an unparalleled art and photography program, a presentation that anticipates students' questions, and an approach that emphasizes contemporary physics while interweaving historical perspectives. Hecht's coverage of classical physics is clear and insightful. He shows students how 21st-century physics illuminates the classical topics of each chapter, adding excitement to the subject matter. Over 1,300 illustrations make it possible for students to visualize a diversity of physical phenomena. Many of these are multi-frame, sequential drawings allowing students to comprehend the temporal unfolding of complex events. A selection of sketch art teaches students how to create problem-solving diagrams. This new edition of the text was designed to aggressively address the issue of problem solving for students (guided by contemporary physics education research). To this end Hecht has provided not only his approach to the five-step problem-solving framework but also a wide range of new problems and solutions specifically designed to build student capability and confidence.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Mathematics for Physics with Calculus

Mathematics for Physics with Calculus Lowest new price: $24.35
Lowest used price: $2.00
List price: $55.60
Author: Biman Das

A supplementary text for introductory courses in Calculus-Based Physics.

 

Designed for students who plan to take or who are presently taking calculus-based physics courses. This book will develop necessary mathematical skills and help students gain the competence to use precalculus, calculus, vector algebra, vector calculus, and the statistical analysis of experimental data. Students taking intermediate physics, engineering, and other science courses will also find the book useful–and will be able to use the book as a mathematical resource for these intermediate level courses. The book emphasizes primarily the use of mathematical techniques and mathematical concepts in Physics and does not go into their rigorous developments.

Similar Products:


The Mathematical Analysis of Physical Systems

The Mathematical Analysis of Physical Systems Lowest new price: $195.06
Lowest used price: $5.81
List price: $54.95
Author: Ronald Mickens

Contents: 1-1. The Unreasonable Effectiveness of Mathematics in the Natural Sciences / Eugene P. Wigner; 1-2. The Unreasonable Effectiveness of Mathematics / R.W. Hamming; 2. Gauge Invariance in Nature: A Simple View / Sylvester J. Gates, Jr.; 3. The Radon Transform / Stanley R. Deans; 4. The Geometry of Quantum Flow / James V. Lindesay and Harry L. Morrison; 5. Classical Chaos, the Geometry of Phase Space, and Semiclassical Quantization / William P. Reinhardt; 6. The Adiabatic Method in the Theory of Many-Body Systems / Vladimir Z. Kresin and William A. Lester, Jr.; 7. Catastrophe Theory: What It Is, Why It Exists, How It Works / Robert Gilmore


Next >>
Page 1 of 8

[Kindle]    [Kindle DX]
  Privacy Policy

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED AS IS AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.