Apparel & AccessoriesBooksClassical MusicDVDElectronics & PhotoGourmet Food and GroceriesHealth & Personal CareHome & GardenIndustrial & ScientificKitchen
Popular MusicMusical InstrumentsOutdoor LivingComputer HardwareComputer SoftwareSporting GoodsToolsToys and GamesVHS VideoVideo Games

Search:

Browse by Catagory:

Books

Mathematical Physics


Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics)

Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) Lowest new price: $72.27
Lowest used price: $72.87
List price: $93.00
Author: Carlo Rovelli
Brand: Brand: Cambridge University Press

Quantum gravity poses the problem of merging quantum mechanics and general relativity, the two great conceptual revolutions in the physics of the twentieth century. The loop and spinfoam approach, presented in this book, is one of the leading research programs in the field. The first part of the book discusses the reformulation of the basis of classical and quantum Hamiltonian physics required by general relativity. The second part covers the basic technical research directions. Appendices include a detailed history of the subject of quantum gravity, hard-to-find mathematical material, and a discussion of some philosophical issues raised by the subject. This fascinating text is ideal for graduate students entering the field, as well as researchers already working in quantum gravity. It will also appeal to philosophers and other scholars interested in the nature of space and time.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order Lowest new price: $16.93
Lowest used price: $2.00
List price: $30.99
Author: Steven Strogatz
Brand: Brand: Hyperion

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics

Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics Lowest new price: $70.19
Lowest used price: $27.27
List price: $79.95
Author: George Turrell

Chemistry and physics share a common mathematical foundation. From elementary calculus to vector analysis and group theory, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics aims to provide a comprehensive reference for students and researchers pursuing these scientific fields. The book is based on the authors many classroom experience.

Designed as a reference text, Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics will prove beneficial for students at all university levels in chemistry, physics, applied mathematics, and theoretical biology. Although this book is not computer-based, many references to current applications are included, providing the background to what goes on "behind the screen" in computer experiments.

Similar Products:


Group Theoretical Methods in Physics: Proceedings of the XVI International Colloquium (INTERNATIONAL COLLOQUIUM ON GROUP THEORETICAL METHODS IN ... THEORETICAL METHODS IN PHYSICS: PROCEEDINGS)

Group Theoretical Methods in Physics: Proceedings of the XVI International Colloquium (INTERNATIONAL COLLOQUIUM ON GROUP THEORETICAL METHODS IN ... THEORETICAL METHODS IN PHYSICS: PROCEEDINGS) Lowest used price: $20.00
List price: $19.95
Author: H. D. Doebner


The Complex Wkb Method for Nonlinear Equations I: Linear Theory (Progress in Mathematical Physics)

The Complex Wkb Method for Nonlinear Equations I: Linear Theory (Progress in Mathematical Physics) Lowest new price: $62.80
Lowest used price: $62.71
List price: $180.00
Author: V. P. Maslov

When first published (in Russian), this book proved to become the fountainhead of a major stream of important papers in mathematics, physics and even chemistry. Indeed, it formed the basis of new methodology and opened new directions for research. The present English edition includes new examples of applications to physics, hitherto unpublished or available only in Russian. It uses topological methods to analyze isotropic invariant manifolds in order to obtain symptotic series of eigenvalues and eigenvectors for the multi-dimensional Schrödinger equation also taking into account the so-called tunnel effects.


Mathematics for Physics with Calculus

Mathematics for Physics with Calculus Lowest new price: $19.23
Lowest used price: $2.99
List price: $55.60
Author: Biman Das

A supplementary text for introductory courses in Calculus-Based Physics.

 

Designed for students who plan to take or who are presently taking calculus-based physics courses. This book will develop necessary mathematical skills and help students gain the competence to use precalculus, calculus, vector algebra, vector calculus, and the statistical analysis of experimental data. Students taking intermediate physics, engineering, and other science courses will also find the book useful–and will be able to use the book as a mathematical resource for these intermediate level courses. The book emphasizes primarily the use of mathematical techniques and mathematical concepts in Physics and does not go into their rigorous developments.

Similar Products:


Generalized Coherent States and Their Applications (Texts & Monographs in Physics)

Generalized Coherent States and Their Applications (Texts & Monographs in Physics) Lowest new price: $104.00
Lowest used price: $89.51
List price: $104.00
Author: A. Perelomov
Brand: Brand: Springer-Verlag

This monograph treats an extensively developed field in modern mathematical physics - the theory of generalized coherent states and their applications to various physical problems. Coherent states, introduced originally by Schrodinger and von Neumann, were later employed by Glauber for a quantal description of laser light beams. The concept was generalized by the author for an arbitrary Lie group. In the last decade the formalism has been widely applied to various domains of theoretical physics and mathematics. The area of applications of generalized coherent states is very wide, and a comprehensive exposition of the results in the field would be helpful. This monograph is the first attempt toward this aim. My purpose was to compile and expound systematically the vast amount of material dealing with the coherent states and available through numerous journal articles. The book is based on a number of undergraduate and postgraduate courses I delivered at the Moscow Physico-Technical Institute. In its present form it is intended for professional mathematicians and theoretical physicists; it may also be useful for university students of mathematics and physics. In Part I the formalism is elaborated and explained for some of the simplest typical groups. Part II contains more sophisticated material; arbitrary Lie groups and symmetrical spaces are considered. A number of examples from various areas of theoretical and mathematical physics illustrate advantages of this approach, in Part III. It is a pleasure for me to thank Dr. Yu. Danilov for many useful remarks.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition


Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences

Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences Lowest new price: $63.98
Lowest used price: $20.00
List price: $74.75
Author: Philip R. Bevington
Brand: McGraw Hill

The purpose of this book is to provide an introduction to the concepts of statistical analysis of data for students at the undergraduate and graduate level, and to provide tools for data reduction and error analysis commonly required in the physical sciences. The presentation is developed from a practical point of view, including enough derivation to justify the results, but emphasizing methods of handling data more than theory. The text provides a variety of numerical and graphical techniques. Computer programs that support these techniques will be available on an accompanying website in both Fortran and C++.

Similar Products:


Elements of the Random Walk: An introduction for Advanced Students and Researchers

Elements of the Random Walk: An introduction for Advanced Students and Researchers Lowest new price: $54.68
Lowest used price: $68.52
List price: $67.00
Author: Joseph Rudnick
Brand: Brand: Cambridge University Press

Random walks have proven to be a useful model in understanding processes across a wide spectrum of scientific disciplines. This book is an introduction to some of the most powerful and general techniques used in the application of these ideas. Its self-contained text will appeal to graduate students across science, engineering and mathematics who need to understand the applications of random walk techniques, as well as to established researchers.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Classical Orthogonal Polynomials of a Discrete Variable (SPRINGER SERIES IN COMPUTATIONAL PHYSICS)

Classical Orthogonal Polynomials of a Discrete Variable (SPRINGER SERIES IN COMPUTATIONAL PHYSICS) Lowest new price: $253.24
Lowest used price: $39.99
List price: $99.00
Author: A. F. Nikiforov

While classical orthogonal polynomials appear as solutions to hypergeometric differential equations, those of a discrete variable emerge as solutions of difference equations of hypergeometric type on lattices. The authors present a concise introduction to this theory, presenting at the same time methods of solving a large class of difference equations. They apply the theory to various problems in scientific computing, probability, queuing theory, coding and information compression. The book is an expanded and revised version of the first edition, published in Russian (Nauka 1985). Students and scientists will find a useful textbook in numerical analysis.


Next >>
Page 1 of 8

[Kindle]    [Kindle DX]
  Privacy Policy

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED AS IS AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.