Apparel & AccessoriesBooksClassical MusicDVDElectronics & PhotoGourmet Food and GroceriesHealth & Personal CareHome & GardenIndustrial & ScientificKitchen
Popular MusicMusical InstrumentsOutdoor LivingComputer HardwareComputer SoftwareSporting GoodsToolsToys and GamesVHS VideoVideo Games

Search:

Browse by Catagory:

Books

Mathematical Physics


Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order

Sync: The Emerging Science of Spontaneous Order Lowest new price: $9.95
Lowest used price: $1.99
List price: $30.99
Author: Steven H. Strogatz
Brand: Brand: Hyperion

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance with its orbit around the earth; our hearts depend on the synchronous firing of ten thousand pacemaker cells. While the forces that synchronize the flashing of fireflies may seem to have nothing to do with our heart cells, there is in fact a deep connection.

Synchrony is a science in its infancy, and Strogatz is a pioneer in this new frontier in which mathematicians and physicists attempt to pinpoint just how spontaneous order emerges from chaos. From underground caves in Texas where a French scientist spent six months alone tracking his sleep-wake cycle, to the home of a Dutch physicist who in 1665 discovered two of his pendulum clocks swinging in perfect time, this fascinating book spans disciplines, continents, and centuries. Engagingly written for readers of books such as Chaos and The Elegant Universe, Sync is a tour-de-force of nonfiction writing.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Mathematics for Physics with Calculus

Mathematics for Physics with Calculus Lowest new price: $24.89
Lowest used price: $2.00
List price: $55.60
Author: Biman Das

A supplementary text for introductory courses in Calculus-Based Physics.

 

Designed for students who plan to take or who are presently taking calculus-based physics courses. This book will develop necessary mathematical skills and help students gain the competence to use precalculus, calculus, vector algebra, vector calculus, and the statistical analysis of experimental data. Students taking intermediate physics, engineering, and other science courses will also find the book useful–and will be able to use the book as a mathematical resource for these intermediate level courses. The book emphasizes primarily the use of mathematical techniques and mathematical concepts in Physics and does not go into their rigorous developments.

Similar Products:


Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics)

Quantum Gravity (Cambridge Monographs on Mathematical Physics) Lowest new price: $71.95
Lowest used price: $69.99
List price: $93.00
Author: Carlo Rovelli
Brand: Brand: Cambridge University Press

Quantum gravity poses the problem of merging quantum mechanics and general relativity, the two great conceptual revolutions in the physics of the twentieth century. The loop and spinfoam approach, presented in this book, is one of the leading research programs in the field. The first part of the book discusses the reformulation of the basis of classical and quantum Hamiltonian physics required by general relativity. The second part covers the basic technical research directions. Appendices include a detailed history of the subject of quantum gravity, hard-to-find mathematical material, and a discussion of some philosophical issues raised by the subject. This fascinating text is ideal for graduate students entering the field, as well as researchers already working in quantum gravity. It will also appeal to philosophers and other scholars interested in the nature of space and time.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Time Traveler: A Scientist's Personal Mission to Make Time Travel a Reality

Time Traveler: A Scientist's Personal Mission to Make Time Travel a Reality Lowest new price: $28.00
Lowest used price: $4.48
List price: $24.95
Author: Dr. Ronald L. Mallett
Brand: Brand: Thunder's Mouth Press

This is the dramatic and inspirational first-person story of theoretical physicist, Dr. Ronald Mallett, who recently discovered the basic equations for a working time machine that he believes can be used as a transport vehicle to the past.

Combining elements of Rocket Boys and Elegant Universe, Time Traveler follows Mallett's discovery of Einstein's work on space-time, his study of Godel's work on a solution of Einstein's equation that might allow for time travel, and his own research in theoretical physics spanning thirty years that culminated in his recent discovery of the effects of circulating laser light and its application to time travel.

The foundation for Mallett's historic time-travel work is Einstein's theory of general relativity, a sound platform for any physicist. Through his years of reading and studying Einstein, Mallett became a buff well before he had any notion of the importance of the grand old relativist's theories to his own career. One interesting subtext to the story is Mallett's identification with, and keen interest in, Einstein. Mallett provides easy-to-understand explanations of the famous physicist's seminal work.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences

Data Reduction and Error Analysis for the Physical Sciences Lowest new price: $54.33
Lowest used price: $20.00
List price: $74.75
Author: Philip R. Bevington

The purpose of this book is to provide an introduction to the concepts of statistical analysis of data for students at the undergraduate and graduate level, and to provide tools for data reduction and error analysis commonly required in the physical sciences. The presentation is developed from a practical point of view, including enough derivation to justify the results, but emphasizing methods of handling data more than theory. The text provides a variety of numerical and graphical techniques. Computer programs that support these techniques will be available on an accompanying website in both Fortran and C++.

Similar Products:


Physics: Algebra/Trig

Physics: Algebra/Trig Lowest new price: $11.54
Lowest used price: $2.42
List price: $246.95
Author: Eugene Hecht
Brand: Brand: Brooks/Cole Pub Co

In this significant revision of his ground-breaking book, Hecht uses a compelling narrative presentation. Students will see the wonder of physics as Hecht uses real-life applications, an unparalleled art and photography program that motivates conceptual discussions, a presentation that anticipates students' questions, and an approach that emphasizes contemporary physics while interweaving historical perspectives.

Building on the numerous strengths of the First Edition, this book is now thoroughly revised throughout with approximately 800 new problems, a new five-step problem-solving framework for all examples, new sketch-art accompanying many examples, more biological applications, new do-it-yourself experiments, and so much more.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition

Similar Products:


Mathematical Methods For Physics

Mathematical Methods For Physics Lowest new price: $75.85
Lowest used price: $11.44
List price: $50.00
Author: H. W. Wyld

This classic book helps students learn the basics in physics by bridging the gap between mathematics and the basic fundamental laws of physics. With supplemental material such as graphs and equations, Mathematical Methods for Physics creates a strong, solid anchor of learning. The text has three parts: Part I focuses on the use of special functions in solving the homogeneous partial differential equations of physics, and emphasizes applications to topics such as electrostatics, wave guides, and resonant cavities, vibrations of membranes, heat flow, potential flow in fluids, plane and spherical waves. Part II deals with the solution of inhomogeneous differential equations with particular emphasis on problems in electromagnetism, Green's functions for Poisson's equation, the wave equation and the diffusion equation, and the solution of integral equations by iteration, eigenfunction expansion and the Fredholm series. Finally, Part II explores complex variable techniques, including evalution of itegrals, dispersion relations, special functions in the complex plane, one-sided Fourier transforms, and Laplace transforms.

Similar Products:


Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library)

Sphere Packing, Lewis Carroll and Reversi (New Martin Gardner Mathematical Library) Lowest new price: $10.00
Lowest used price: $2.74
List price: $17.99
Author: Martin Gardner
Brand: Martin Gardner

Packing spheres, Reversi, braids, polyominoes, board games, and the puzzles of Lewis Carroll. These and other mathematical diversions return to readers with updates to all the chapters, including new game variations, proofs, and other developments and discoveries. Read about Knuth's Word Ladders program and the latest developments in the digits of pi. Once again these timeless puzzles will charm readers while demonstrating principles of logic, probability, geometry, and other fields of mathematics. It's the perfect stocking stuffer for the puzzle wizard on your list.

Features:

  • Sphere Packing Lewis Carroll and Reversi

Similar Products:


Operator Algebras, Mathematical Physics, and Low Dimensional Topology (Research Notes in Mathematics)

Operator Algebras, Mathematical Physics, and Low Dimensional Topology (Research Notes in Mathematics) Lowest new price: $85.48
Lowest used price: $19.95
List price: $99.95
Brand: Brand: A K Peters/CRC Press

This volume records the proceedings of an international conference that explored recent developments and the interaction between mathematical theory and physical phenomena.

Features:

  • Used Book in Good Condition


Fourier Series (Mathematical Association of America Textbooks)

Fourier Series (Mathematical Association of America Textbooks) Lowest new price: $33.90
Lowest used price: $27.88
List price: $49.95
Author: Rajendra Bhatia

This is a concise introduction to Fourier series covering history, major themes, theorems, examples, and applications. It can be used for self study, or to supplement undergraduate courses on mathematical analysis. Beginning with a brief summary of the rich history of the subject over three centuries, the reader will appreciate how a mathematical theory develops in stages from a practical problem (such as conduction of heat) to an abstract theory dealing with concepts such as sets, functions, infinity, and convergence. The abstract theory then provides unforeseen applications in diverse areas. Exercises of varying difficulty are included throughout to test understanding. A broad range of applications are also covered, and directions for further reading and research are provided, along with a chapter that provides material at a more advanced level suitable for graduate students.

Similar Products:


Next >>
Page 1 of 8

[Kindle]    [Kindle DX]
  Privacy Policy

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED AS IS AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.